» News

Congratulations to our 2016 Annual Award Winners!

Congratulations to the following annual award winners and #1 ranked juniors and adults who were recognized at the 2016 USTA Delaware District Annual Meeting & Awards Brunch on Sunday, January 29, 2017.  Click here for pictures.

Click here to read the Town Square Delaware article about the event and to see additonal pictures.   

2016 Delaware District Award Winners
College Coach of the Year - Joe Kissel, Goldey-Beacom College
Community Tennis Coach of the Year - Adil Ismaaeel
Community Tennis Organization of the Year (Northern Delaware) - Delaware Junior Team Tennis Association (DJTTA)
Community Tennis Organization of the Year (Southern Delaware) - Village of Five Points Tennis
Family of the Year - Rod and Gina Ward and family
Industry Excellence Award - Kim McFadden
Media Award of the Year - Town Square Delaware
Millenial Award - Jeff Wiedemann
Organization of the Year (For Profit) - Excellence Tennis Academy at Bellevue Tennis Center
Organization of the Year (Non-Profit) - Division of Community Resources, New Castle County Department of Community Services
Pro of the Year - Jeremiah DeJose
Tom Ellis Memorial Award - Beth Hyland
Tournament Director of the Year - Mike Yoder, Sea Colony
Volunteer of the Year - Jim Flesch

Bunny Vosters Team Sportsmanship Awards:
Girls - Glasgow High School
Boys - Conrad Schools of Science, Dover High School and Tower Hill School
DIAA Boys' Coach of the Year - John Taylor, Newark High School
DIAA Girls' Coach of the Year - Mary Moore, Ursuline Academy
Ken Isaacs Sportsmanship Award - Ethan Bradley
Mary Levin Sportsmanship Award - Sophie Wilks

J.W.M. Memorial Scholarship Recipients - Afia Asamoah
                                           ​;                      - Mallory Nolte

#1 Ranked Junior and Adult players in the Delaware District for 2016

Girls' 18s:  Laura Ellen Brown
Girls' 16s:  Erica Lane
Girls' 14s:  Samantha Beatrice Manjon
Girls' 12s:  Olivia Anyanwu

Boys' 18s:  Colt R. Williamson
Boys' 16s:  Rishi Gundakaram
Boys' 14s:  Collin Bowers
Boys' 12s:  Gabriel Kraft

Women's 3.5 Singles:  Taya Dianna
Men's 4.5 Singles:  Paul Hart
Men's Open Singles:  Jeff Wiedemann

Also, Delaware Nightmare 14's JTT will be recognized for coming in 2nd place at Nationals! 


2016 Middle States Award Winners

Carol Strasser Memorial League Service Award:  George Watson

Teaching Professional Award:  Jeremiah DeJose

Tennis Official Award:  Melissa Jackson

Tournament Director Award:  Kathie Herel

#1 Ranked Men's 45 Doubles:  Ellis Ferreira

#1 Ranked Men's 45 Doubles:  David Marshall

#1 Ranked Men's 55 Doubles:  Tony House

Girls' 12 Sportsmanship:  Aubrey Nisbet


2016 Premier Providers

Rodney Street Tennis and Tutoring Association

Sea Colony

Wilmington Country Club