» News

2017 Annual Award Winners!

Congratulations to the following annual award winners who will be recognized at the 2017 USTA Delaware District Annual Meeting & Awards Brunch on Sunday, February 25, 2018, from 11:00-1:00 pm at the Doubletree Hotel on Concord Pike, Wilmington.  Everyone is invited to attend.  Reservations are required.  The cost is $20 per person.  For more information contact Meg Kempski at  megkempski@gmail.com

2017 Delaware District Award Winners


Community Tennis Coach of the Year - Bob Bratcher

Community Tennis Organization of the Year - Tennis Rocks Tutoring & Music Association

Family of the Year - Riddle Family (Jack, Susan, Stefanie and Laura)

Industry Excellence Award - Dan Kegelman

Millennial Award - Tim Fitzgerald

Organization of the Year (For Profit) - DuPont Country Club

Organization of the Year (Non-Profit) - Wheelchair Tennis Program of Delaware

Pro of the Year - Monty Cullum

Tennis Official - Melissa Jackson

Tom Ellis Memorial Award - Chris Kyper

Tournament Director of the Year - Troy Donato

USTA League Award - Cindy Beach

Volunteer of the Year - Rebecca Collins

Ken Isaacs Sportsmanship Award (for boys) - Ted Fairfield

Mary Levin Sportsmanship Award (for girls) - Liza Wilkes

Bunny Vosters Team Sportsmanship Award (Girls) - Padua Academy

Bunny Vosters Team Sportsmanship Award (Boys) - Smyrna High School

DIAA Girls Coach of the Year - Kathy Sheehy, Dickinson High School

DIAA Boys Coach of the Year - Jessica Scott, Smyrna High School

J.W.M. Memorial Scholarship - Nikhil Mehta


Number One Ranked Juniors for 2017

Boys' 18 Singles - Rishi Gundakaram

Boys' 16 Singles - Ethan Yu

Boys' 14 Singles - Darin Jawahar

Boys' 12 Singles - Michael Dignazio

Girls' 16 Singles - Katherine Tamesis

Girls' 14 Singles - Samantha Manjon

Girls' 12 Singles - Ava Emrich


Number One Ranked Adults for 2017

Men's 4.0 Singles - Wayne Lai

Men's 4.5 Singles - Paul Hart

Men's Open Singles - Kasi Muthu


2017 Middle States Award Winners

Community Tennis Association Award - Delaware Junior Team Tennis Association (DJTTA)

Edwin J. Faulkner College Coach Award - Joe Kissell

Family of the Year - Riddle Family

Presidential Service Award - Jim Flesch

Tennis Industry Initiative Award - City of Wilmington


Number One Ranked in Middle States (from Delaware)

NTRP Men's 3.0 Singles - Thomas Ellis

NTRP Men's 4.5 Singles - Paul Hart

NTRP Men's 3.5 Doubles - Srinivas Reddy Kandula and Ramesh Damaraju

NTRP Men;s 4.5 Doubles - Timothy Dunn and Paul Hart

NTRP Women's 4.0 Doubles - Vickie Tully

Men's 55 Singles - Bryan Sauer

Men's 55 Doubles - Tony House

8.0 Combined Mixed Doubles - Colleen Craft

Girls' 12 Singles - Aubrey Nisbet

Girls' 14 Singles - Aubrey Nisbet

Boys' 18 Most Improved - Robby Ward


Middle States Premier Providers

Rodney Street Tennis & Tutoring Association

Sea Colony Tennis

Wilmington Country Club